Prague 1527–1918

Prague (Czech: Praha), the capital of the kingdom of Bohemia, grew out of a number of originally separate settlements (including the Old Town, the New Town and Malá Strana or Lesser Quarter), which were amalgamated under Joseph II in 1784.
A number of Habsburg rulers, notably Rudolf II, resided at Prague Castle (Czech: Hradčany) after the crown of Bohemia had been acquired in 1526.
After the collapse of the Habsburg Monarchy Prague became the capital of Czechoslovakia and from 1993 of the Czech Republic.


Relevant Chapters